WHEN

Do you ever ask yourself when you turned the corner and became grandmother age?  I’ve been a widow for 17 years.  I was 68 when my husband died.  At that age I could keep up my usual activities like cleaning the house, gardening, shopping, paying bills, etc.  You know the routine.

Yesterday I had lunch with my sisters.  Two things made me think of this blog.  I had a bracelet on since Sunday.  I could not get it off.  I tried everything.  One of my sisters looked at it and turned it around and unclipped the clasp.  Then I couldn’t find my cane.  My other sister said that it is on your arm.

I realized that I have been changing through the years.  When did it happen?  I looked back and saw the gradual change in my physical abilities.  My son-in-law who took me to Israel 5 years ago was recounting some of my steps there.  He said how he and my daughter, his wife,  helped me on the many walks we encountered there.  I was out of breath much of the time.  He was a little pale as he said that when we got home I had to have open heart surgery.  It could have happened while in Israel.

But God had other ideas.  I did have open heart surgery.  No heart attack, just a whoosh my doctor heard.  A new valve and three bypasses.  I am fine.  When did this show up?  Then I tripped, hit my head, and broke my neck.  When was I off my feed to let this happen?

When did things in your life change?  When did the years keep going by and taking us with them?   Did it just happen one day?  I believe it is a process.  Aging is natural. Psalm 71:18 ” When I am old and gray, do not forsake me, O God, till I declare Your power to the next generation, Your might to all who are to come.”  This is our job, grandmothers, to make sure our grandchildren know the LORD.  When?  Now?  How? Every chance we get.

About loismae34

Grandmother of fabulous Five, mother of terrific Three, Have three neat sons-in-law, 2 sisters, and a number of cousins. Molly is my rescue dog, a little off-white 4 year old poodle, my kids gave me for Mother's Day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment