POWERFUL

I was doing my Bible Study Fellowship lesson for this coming Wednesday which begins the Beatitudes Sermon on the Mount. In 2013 my son-in-law asked me if I felt physically strong enough to go to Israel. I prayed and God led me to go with him, my daughter, and their church. The Bible study lesson brought back memories of that adventure for an 80 year old lady to take on.

The Sermon on the Mount reminded me of that trip because my daughter and son-in-law read the whole Sermon on the Mount from the Bible on the Mountain overlooking the Sea of Galilee where Jesus spoke those words. My mother’s buttons were popping when they read those Words spoken by the Lord so long ago, but are still living today. God’s Word is all powerful and never goes out of style. It is sometimes a hard concept for some of today’s people to believe, but the Word of God is a weapon against all the evil in this world.

I know that many of us have faced hard times. Problems never seem to end. Illness, finances, news, homeless people, jobs, heartache, grieving, and on it goes. But God is still the same. He is here. He is in charge. Even when things look like everything is falling apart, God never is asleep at the helm. He is watching. It might look like evil is gaining on us, but Satan’s time is running out. With each day he knows it is getting closer to his ending up in Hell forever. So he is out to get God’s people. The biggest job Satan has is to take Christians away from Jesus. He knows that he cannot do this without people following him.

Jesus’s Sermon on the Mount gives us all the blessings that are ours through His sacrifice on the Cross. In Ephesians St. Paul tells us to put on the whole Armor of God. James says to resist the devil and he will flee. We can’t go wrong with all this information when we believe and ask the Holy Spirit to write God’s Word on our hearts. Jesus stood against the devil when He went into the desert to be tempted by him with the Word of God as His only weapon. The powerful Word of God had Him stand firm against all the temptation Satan put before Him. That same Word never changes. It is all powerful today and It is ours to use against all the evil Satan can bring our way.

We should never be discouraged. Tell God how you feel. He wants us to come to Him. No matter is too small or too large for Him to handle. Remember God is All Powerful. Nothing can rise above Him. He gives us the tools to be the overcomers in His Name. Put on the Armor, read the Sermon on the Mount, be encouraged to use the power God gives us by the Blood of Jesus and the Word of God.

About loismae34

Grandmother of fabulous Five, mother of terrific Three, Have three neat sons-in-law, 2 sisters, and a number of cousins. Molly is my rescue dog, a little off-white 4 year old poodle, my kids gave me for Mother's Day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to POWERFUL

  1. dmcrey86@yahoo.com says:

    Good one

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. jacobsbl1 says:

    Love this!!!

Leave a comment