WOKE

You hear this word a lot now days. I didn’t really know what everyone was talking about. I know, I am an old lady, but I am trying to be in the know. I must take the advice Jesus gives when He tells us to be “wise as serpents and gentle as doves.” Along those lines the Lord showed me that that means know there are wolves in sheep’s clothing ready to pounce.

Did you ever feel pounced on? I know I whine sometimes when things go wrong, but I just want this to be information for all us grandmothers, so no whining. Today was very interesting. I was “talked down to” and then another person tried to get me to do something I could not handle. Did you ever have that happen to you without realizing what was going on? I am not too woke.

Proverbs speaks wisdom and the need for it. It tells us how wisdom leads us, guides us, makes us smart in all our dealings. Somethings we can do nothing about. However, the wolves in sheep’s clothing, that the Bible warns about, is something we can do something about. Read the Bible. Be in a Bible study group. Fellowship in church. Pray together. These things make us woke.

When we fellowship with other Christians we get different views of the sections of the Bible we are studying. Nothing takes away from the Word. Discussion adds to it. That does make us woke. When you are told “Perhaps you should…” you are being told you don’t get it. Probably true, but then talk to me as an equal. Don’t reprimand me for my choices like a child.

Older people are often spoken to as though they are children. Even when someone wants you to volunteer, just ask. Don’t fish around for what kind of equipment you have available, what programs you have, what you do all day, and then tell you what they want. Even when you say that you cannot do the task, you are pushed to take the job.

I am saying these tactics are like wolves in sheep’s clothing. They are being used by people you trust. Jesus had dealings with people who pretended too. Even the disciples had their problems putting themselves above each other. Those who wanted to know what place they would have in heaven. Arguing with the Lord when He asked them to do something like feed the crowds. Answering Him about the fish they could not catch, because they already tried.

I want to encourage you even though this sounded so negative. Jesus wants us to be aware. If you don’t have wisdom the Bible tells us to ask for it. That means that we can have it. We can be aware, woke, of what the Lord wants for us. We don’t have to take the demonization of Christians by anyone. Jesus is the true Shepherd for the true sheep. Get into His Word. His guidance is there for everyone. We can trust Him.

About loismae34

Grandmother of fabulous Five, mother of terrific Three, Have three neat sons-in-law, 2 sisters, and a number of cousins. Molly is my rescue dog, a little off-white 4 year old poodle, my kids gave me for Mother's Day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to WOKE

  1. Georgia says:

    Sorry you had to go through that. People think they can say anything to you just because they can’t see you or don’t agree with you. Love you Lois

Leave a comment