Celebration

It was a wonderful 4th of July celebration yesterday to say “Happy Birthday to our Nation.”  My little poodle barks till she passes out at all the noise.  When we go outside she wants to chase it down, so she runs around looking for where it is coming from.  I think that there is more coming because the celebration usually lasts over a week.

We really are blessed in this country.  I know lots of our history isn’t nice.  Evil is always lurking all around us.  We can see the victory though in where we are now.  Today is the day to rejoice.  Everyone has a story.  There are a number of things in each back log that is not pleasant.  If we dwell on those things we never get out of the rut.  Years ago my husband and I trained to be “Stephen Ministers” at our church.  We were to listen and help where we could to get the person we were assigned to get out of the pit he/she was in.  However, we were warned not to get in the pit with them.   No one can help anyone when you are in the same downward spiral.  It is a good lesson for everyone.  Learn to listen, but give no advice and don’t get in the pit.

Scripture is the most important help you can give someone.  Sometimes just one verse speaks to the hurting heart.  You can’t tell someone to “get over it” when they are hurting.  We don’t know what they are going through.  The same type of happening can affect each person differently.  Like my dog barks at the noise and my granddaughter’s cat sleeps through it.  Let’s remember to listen to a person and let the Holy Spirit lead us to help.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, AMERICA!

 

About loismae34

Grandmother of fabulous Five, mother of terrific Three, Have three neat sons-in-law, 2 sisters, and a number of cousins. Molly is my rescue dog, a little off-white 4 year old poodle, my kids gave me for Mother's Day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment